winter greens

gardengreens2

About once a week I pick enough greens to make most of our dinner. These are the second pickings of broccoli and really crisp and tender – if they can be both. I already cut the main head and these are the sideshoots. There are a few snowpeas – most of them having been devoured before I left the garden – kale, bok choy, garlic tops, a baby cauliflower, and my new favorite, collards. I first planted collards a couple of years ago and was surprised at how tender the young, fresh leaves are. So different from the thick, tough leaves at the store or even at the farmer’s markets.

I only have three 4 by 8 foot garden beds but this winter they have really produced with little work from me. The beds are covered with netting to keep the squirrels out which is a big pain to me to get to my plants but I’m hoping it’s a big enough pain to the squirrels that they will create havoc elsewhere.

I wish I could tell you of some great recipe I use, but I’m not a creative cook and I like simple food, so I usually do a kind of slow stir fry using a medium heat under the wok, add some fresh ginger and a few seasonings and eat or serve over something like rice or a few flax crackers.

I have always liked vegetables but I have been trying to eat more of them since I read The Omnivore’s Dilemma by Michael Pollan and his article in the New York Times, Unhappy Meals (www.nytimes.com/2007/01/28/magazine/28nutritionism.t.html if you’re interested and haven’t read it). I don’t remember much of the article except for the first 3 lines: “Eat food. Not too much. Mostly plants.”

firstbowlFor some reason when I make vegetables this way, I get out this shallow bowl to eat them out of. This was one of my first bowls and more than a little warped, but it’s a satisfying weight and it holds just the right amount.

2 responses to “winter greens

  1. I love fresh picked snow peas. Beautiful glaze on that bowl, I would never have known it was warped. I call my warped ones free form, imperfect is perfect.

  2. I really enjoyed this post. My grandmother used to say, when she enjoyed a salad, that the lettuce (iceberg) was tender. I never quite understood how lettuce could be tender. Pollen’s advice is great! So simple.

Leave a Reply

