The Wrong Foot

2 3

I have been making bowls and adding feet a day or two later while the bowl is upside down. The feet on these 2 bowls kind of gave me a headache when I looked at them. I think the foot on the left is a little too high, but a bigger problem is that it is way too heavy looking for the bowl on top of it.

The one on the right is just the opposite, with a heavy bowl and a stilted little dashed foot. It looks so precarious. What was I thinking? I am really trying to figure that out so I don’t make the same mistakes again.

Both of the bowls were made with a drape mold and the other parts added later. When I put the foot on, the clay is not hard enough to turn over to see how it will look. All of the bowls are similar but different so I can’t do the same thing each time.

11 This is what I did around the foot to try to lighten it up. I think it is just OK. The other bowl lost its foot entirely and may end up in the recycle bucket.

Often I get it right and the foot fits and balances the bowl, but more times than I would like, I don’t. Sometimes they are off in small ways, but sometimes they are way off, like these two. What do you do to figure out the height, and width of the foot? What am I not thinking about or thinking about incorrectly? Is there a formula I don’t know about. (If so, I really hope it has really easy math!)

4 responses to “The Wrong Foot

  1. Hi Barbara, I like your bowls with the additions on the sides and what a great idea to lighten up the foot, that worked well. I have the same problem with my bowls because I usually don’t make the same bowl twice and because I make them upside down over a hump mold and can’t turn it over to see if it looks ok till it hardens up. I also make some drape bowls and don’t put feet on them at all – kind of like a mixing bowl, but free form. I was wonderfing if there was a formula the other day too, but I am thinking there isn’t because some bowls have high sides, some low, some are more flat etc and it probably just depends on that, maybe I’m wrong. Hope somebody chimes in with the perfect advice.

  2. feet feet feet… i always lean toward the precarious look

  3. Ah, Jim, but so elegantly prcarious

  4. I agree with your analysis of the feet. The last version still has a bit of a look of being stilted (as in up on stilts) but in a good way. Sort of like a puppy with big feet — playful and fun. It also makes a statement that whatever you put in the bowl is very important and demands a strong presentation.

Leave a Reply

