This little vase, er, pitcher.

vase

When I look at this pitcher, I keep wanting to sing “this little vase of mine, I’m gonna let it shine, this little vase of mine . . . ” Well, “this little pitcher of mine” just doesn’t work.

Do you ever get some song or part of a song stuck in your head? It’s driving you crazy because you don’t even like the song, but you find it playing in the background of your mind, and all too often, the foreground? The worst is when it is from a tv commercial, but the other day I caught myself humming the music from a popular song with silly repetitive lyrics that my 20 year old daughter sings to tease me because she knows she will get me started thinking of the song and then I’ll get frustrated because I can’t make it go away. Occasionally I’ll wake up singing a tune from something like The Wizard of Oz – “with the thoughts you’ll be thinkin’ you could be another Lincoln if you only had a brain” and that soundtrack will play all day, and I’m wishing I could change the selection.

Earworms. That’s what it’s called when you get songs stuck in your head. From the German word ohrwurm. There has apparently been little scientific research on earworms. I guess it is hard to get funding for it, but there has been a little and, just like for me, most people only get about 15 to 20 seconds of a simple song that takes little effort to sing stuck in their minds. Some people get earworms so badly that it interferes with sleep or work and to relax the circuits they take antidepressants and anti-anxiety drugs.

Whew, I’m going to stop complaining. Now I feel lucky that my earworms are at the most, mildly irritating and often mildly entertaining. “This little light, er, vase, er, pitcher of mine . . . “

7 responses to “This little vase, er, pitcher.

  1. Earworms! So THAT what it’s called! I have it/them all the time. The oddest one that I seem to have on a semi-regular basis is the theme music from the Rocky & Bullwinkle Show. I have no idea why but it pops up so frequently. Of course now I’ve got “this little light of mine” going on. 🙂

    On another note…I love the pitcher! Is it hand formed or did you do some of it on the wheel? I like it’s funky shape and the texture of the surface.

    • Hi Lynne, I read that the most musical people have the most earworms whether they like it or not. The pitcher is rolled on the inside so there is no seam, then rolled on the back of my car mat and then pinched and pulled.
      I really enjoyed seeing your multi-media gallery of work!

  2. I think the pitcher totally works.
    I am not commenting on earworms … la la la la la !

  3. earworms, now I’m gonna get that stuck in my ear, he he, very cute vase, er pitcher, I like the handle and the feet and the glaze too.

  4. Reading this post cracked me up! It’s as whimsical and delightful and funny as this little pitcher, which to me looks like it is based on the shape and posture of someone’s plump, cheery Aunt Ida who always has fresh-baked crumb cake at her house and serves it on green glass dishes with a cozy cup of tea. Looking closely at the pitcher I can see the dimples of your car mat. Did you actually roll it on the mat in the car, or bring the mat into the studio?

    P.S. When I go to the doc on Friday for the buzzing in my ear, I’ll ask him if he thinks it might be earworms (though it sounds more like crickets or hummingbirds than worms!).

Leave a Reply

