Hanging Tile

archestile1

Meredith at Whynot Pottery blog did a great post about hanging tiles and planters. Having the process spelled out with details and close-up pictures is so helpful. Meredith uses Liquid Nails and I am wondering how heavy a tile Liquid Nails will hold. For a while I was doing some large tiles or tiles mixed with mosaic. Hanging them is always challenging. In our mild climate these can live outside year round.

sidearches1

On a particularly heavy or large piece, I mount the tile onto Hardybacker and also put a couple of screws through the tile and the Hardybacker and into a permanent surface. I put rubber washers between the screw and the clay. I have provided hardware for other people to mount them in this way also and so far I haven’t heard of any falling or breaking. This one is also sitting on the fence itself.

wateringcancloseup

The watering can is mounted right outside my back door, but there are others around town that are mounted on fences and sheds that seem to be surviving very well.

The chicken mosaic below is only about 18 by 18 inches but weighs about 14 pounds. It hangs using a method similar to what Meredith describes but with the wood screwed to the Hardybacker instead of using glue. I am not sure that Hardybacker has the surface strength to hold the adhesive.

hangingmosaicsmallchicken

I have not done any tiles or mosaics at all recently, big or small, but I’m sure I will again. Especially because I have a huge surplus of broken or damaged pottery. I happily take home all discarded glazed work in the studio. I’m so sorry when someone’s platter gets cracked in a firing, but s**t happens and at least it doesn’t go straight to the landfill.

2 responses to “Hanging Tile

  1. Beautiful work, love the watering can and the chicken mosaic. The two part epoxy I use says it has 1700 pounds (something like that amount – out in garage right now and don’t want to go out there, much too tired) of shear strength.

  2. Thanks, Linda. I have to keep cutting back that plant that is getting “watered” so it doesn’t cover the watering can. I often use epoxy to hold outdoor pieces together and it works great if the pieces are sitting on top of each other, but I have had a couple of things come apart when two glazed surfaces were epoxied together and there was some unsupported weight. Also, I tend to lean to the over-engineered side.

Leave a Reply

