sitting on the dock of the bay-ayay

bay

Sitting on the dock of the bay

Watching the tide roll away

I’m just sitting on the dock of the bay

Wasting time

Left my home in Georgia

headed for the Frisco Bay . . .

(Thanks to Otis Redding)

Makes sense that this song would be playing in my mental soundtrack as I sat on this dock waiting to meet my daughter at the Ferry Building for lunch, but now I’ve got an earworm and it won’t go away.

1

If I had gotten the cars to stop or it might look like this picture was taken in the 50s with the streetcar stopped right in front.

After lunch I got on BART subway to ride home under the Bay and Claire walked up the hills and stairs to her place just below Coit Tower. But before we parted she told me she would like to have a pitcher and I saw a challenge. New goal: throw a functional and well-balanced and well-handled (!) pitcher that looks good.

Multi-talented Jana, was a potter when I first knew her. She made special cups for my kids that I still have (cups and kids) and a wonderful pitcher for me that I used for years and years until it developed a small crack in the bottom. By then, Jana was a painter and hadn’t kept any of her pots so it is now back with her. It is kind of a Kool-Aid pitcher shape, so that is what I am aiming for.

Coit Tower through the haze.

Coit Tower through the haze.

7 responses to “sitting on the dock of the bay-ayay

  1. it’s a worthy challenge, especially the handle part

  2. All I have to do is hear one line and I’ll be humming that song all day. Can’t wait to see your pitcher, I could definitely use help with my handles.

  3. OH, you’re there????

  4. Yep, I’m here right in the line of the infamous fog.
    The handle is a whole ‘nother ball game, isn’t it.
    She might have to be waiting for a long time till I get it right. I envision a hollow, rolled handle, but will that be sturdy enough for a lot of use?

  5. Hi Barbara, FYI – Ceramic Arts Daily email has a video today on how to throw a pitcher in two parts on the wheel. I haven’t watched it yet.

  6. wa-a-stin’ time……my state of being!

    I can’t wait to see the pitcher for Claire -it will be wonderfully interesting.

  7. Saw some clicks through to my Filbert Stairs picture from your blog. I knew spending hours obsessively tagging every picture was worth it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

