Feels like summer

gerti

I took the Gerts out for a walk last evening and I thought, “I love summer!” OK, it is not officially summer, but it was cold and foggy just like summer here often is and, the most exciting part – it was 8:30 and it was still light. Hurray for long days and short nights.

Since it’s summer, my daughter will be coming back on Sunday to live with us for the next couple of months – which I also love. Although between her summer class, her job and her social life, I don’t know how much we’ll see her.

The big issue for me is that I had taken over part of her cute little attic room to paint my pots, with her vintage Beatle’s poster and red wall.

2

Now this will all be moved out to the studioette. While out there cleaning and rearranging to make room for a painting table I cleared out lots of spiderwebs. This very protective spider parent would not abandon her eggs, so after I reassured myself that it wasn’t a black widow, I had to let her stay.

(later note: Looks like I was wrong, wrong, wrong, about this spider – thanks to Linda and Meredith- read their comments.)
spider

In the fall when I was teaching 7 year olds, and the big beautifully colored garden spiders were in every bush, I would take the kids out to watch and learn all about them. The kids were fascinated (8 eyes! spinnerets!) and would get so excited to see any spider. One day a parent was helping in the classroom and one of the kids saw a tiny spider and called everyone over – “spider, spider!” The mother, thinking she was coming to the children’s rescue, ran over and squished it with her shoe. The kids couldn’t believe it. There were tears.

Spiders are supposed to bring good luck. “If you wish to live and thrive, let a spider run alive”. You would think I would have thought of this sooner, but when the eggs in that sac hatch, my studioette will be filled with up to 1000 babies! Uh, lucky me?

4 responses to “Feels like summer

  1. Hate to tell you this, but that IS a black widow spider guarding her egg sac (not all of them have the red hourglass – but on the underside you may see the red hourglass). I would sweep it up on a broom and carry it, egg sac and all outside. Their webs are uneven, sticky, and kind of cottony looking like the spider webs you see in those old time scary movies.

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Latrodectus_hesperus

  2. I thought the same thing- having seen my share of the little sweethearts here. Linda is more kind then me. I don’t save black widows.
    I had one in the house not that long ago and we parted company.

  3. sounds like it will be a fun summer with your daughter coming to live… a hassle to move all your decorating stuff but it will be worth it.

  4. Yikes, thank you Linda and Meredith, I guess I better not rely on my limited knowledge about the spider species. I’m glad to know that not all black widows have red! I went right out and moved the big shelf and took the egg sac outside. The mama dove under the heavy shelf as it was sliding so I had no decisions to make about what to do with her- just some clean up.

    You are so right Jim. I am really happy about getting the time with her.

Leave a Reply

