Snow on the camelias

and frost on the Collards and Coreopis. I know this frost is nothing compared to real snow but it is a big deal on the mid-Pacific coast with our zone 10b temperature range plants. I went out in the dark and cut all the lettuce I could reach from the path and covered my little tangerine and lemon tree trees. I should have covered several other plants, but it was too cold and I am too wimpy when it comes to being cold. Hopefully my plants are tougher than me.

It rained here in the flatlands near the Bay the night before last, but in the hills there was snow. It’s a big deal, since we only get snow every 5 to 10 years and then only lasts for a couple of hours. That’s OK with me since one of the reasons I like to live in this area is – no snow and no ice. Even though I had a great time in my high school days purposely skidding the car on ice in parking lots, I never want to drive on icy roads again.

This bowl turned out to be so thick it was out of proportion to the base, and I was about to recycle it, but wondered if I could lighten it up by carving some clay away and this is the result.

The bowl still seems a little top heavy to me, but the carving part was pretty satisfying, didn’t take an inordinate amount of time, and I want to see how it looks after glazing, so I guess it lives for another day.

4 responses to “Snow on the camelias

  1. Oooh! Looks great to me!

  2. I like the carved bowl.
    And Like you I don’t like cold!
    Here we do get some but where you are!
    It just should not happen!

  3. What a good idea to carve the bowl. I have a pinched casserole bowl, that is really heavy and is taking forever to dry, I might just try some carving. thx. Cold here too althought last night wasn’t so bad. Love the frost on the right leaves, are those lamb’s ears?

Leave a Reply

